About us

The Cinema Organ Society was founded in 1952 by Hubert Selby and Tony Moss for those interested in organ music as entertainment.


John Mann


John Smallwood, Basil Bonner


David Lowe, John Smallwood, Gordon Whitehouse

General Secretary

Malcolm Phillips


Simon Gledhill


Steve Nicholson

Membership Secretary

David Shepherd

Newsletter Editor

Wayne Ivany

Journal Editor

John Leeming

Technical Officer

Robert Rowley

Trocadero Project Technical Manager

John Abson

Musical Advisor

Richard Hills FRCO

Sales Officer

Simon Field

Publicity Co-ordinator

Steve Whitehead

General Archivist

Lucy Burkhill

Recordings Officer

Richard Stephenson


David Reed

To contact any of the above people, put a dot between their first name and surname and then add @cinema-organs.org.uk

The Society caters for everyone interested in organ music as entertainment. It aims to promote the highest standards of theatre organ performance, presentation and technical skill. The Society advises on theatre organ installation and encourages the use of the instrument in public places. It also encourages the tuition of aspiring players and seeks to support the work of other groups with similar interests.

CONCERTS: We promote regular theatre organ concerts by top British and international artists, as well as by younger up-and-coming players, on our own instruments and elsewhere. Members enjoy reduced admission prices to many of these events and sometimes to events run by other organisations

SOCIAL EVENTS: These are usually based around an organ, members taking it in turn to entertain in an informal atmosphere. Professional guidance is sometimes available. Other events may include dances and recorded music presentations.

Acknowledgements and Copyright

A number of people have contributed to the this website for which we are very grateful. You, too, can help by giving feedback on the content; what is missing, and what else you would like to see?
Where possible, we have sought permission to use material and our policy is to acknowledge sources wherever known. Should we have failed in this, please let us know and we will do our best to rectify matters.

Contributions from the following are particularly of note:

• Graham Noble: (Web design and Technical information)

• Richard Stephenson: (Photography and information)

• John Leeming: (Photography, information and recordings)

• Ian Macnaught: (Technical information)

• Wayne Ivany: (Photography and historical information)

• Steve Ashley: (Technical information)

• John Abson: (Photography and technical information)

• Peter Hammond: (Photography and information)

• Richard Hills: (Technical specifications and information)

• Stephen Dutfield: (Technical information)

• Nigel Laflin: (Photography)

• Michael Wooldridge: (Photography and information)

• David Reed: (Photography and technical facilities)

• David Lowe: (Photography and information)

All rights, including copyright of these web pages are owned by The Cinema Organ Society.

Permission to use any part of this site must be with prior written permission of The Cinema Organ Society.

Copyrighted items are never knowingly used. If this should arise, please contact the webmaster and the item will be given the correct credits or removed without question.
The Cinema Organ Society makes every effort to ensure that information contained in these pages is accurate. However, no liability is accepted arising from reliance upon the information contained in these pages or any other information accessed via this site.

  Website designed, built and maintained by David Reed.

  © The Cinema Organ Society 2014 - All Rights Reserved


Promoting the cinema organ as entertainment for over 60 years

COS Constitution
COS District Policies